Any purchases made through links may earn me a commission. Learn more.

Books Like Ready Player One: Our Recommended Books

By Leo Flynn

| Updated:

WARCROSS By Marie Lu

Warcross Book Cover

Description: Warcross is an escape from the reality. There are many people out there eager to cash in on this lucrative opportunity. Emika Chen tracks down people illegally betting on the game. After hacking into the International Championships, Emika gets a call from the game’s creator. He needs a spy for the tournament.

About The Author: Marie Lu is an award-winning, NY Times bestselling author of YA, who’s been thrilling readers with her imaginative stories.

Why Read It? One of the best science fiction books like ready player one.

ARTEMIS By Andy Weir

Artemis Book Cover

Description: Jasmine Bashara lives on Artemis, a lunar colony where the rich work and play. She needs money to pay off a debt. When a heist comes along, it’s what she needs. Things escalate, and she finds herself in the middle of a conspiracy.

About The Author: Andy Weir is a science-savvy, bestselling author known for his fun, unputdownable stories.

Why Read It? A high-octane heist thriller set in outer space, with offbeat humor and twists similar to Ready Player One’s trademark style.

SNOW CRASH By Neal Stephenson

Snow Crash Book Cover

Description: Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse. A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

About The Author: Neal Stephenson is a best-selling sci-fi author who’s always pushing boundaries: he’s a “renegade of the imagination.”

Why Read It?

OTHERWORLD By Jason Segel And Kirsten Miller

Otherworld Book Cover

Description: The Otherworld is a virtual world video game where there are no rules. Simon has discovered the consequences…

About The Authors: Kirsten Miller is an author young adult fiction with a unique, witty writing style. Jason Segel is an actor, writer, and comedian, best known for his role in How I Met Your Mother.

Why Read It? A heart-pounding thrill ride with resounding themes.

iLLUMINAE By Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Illuminae Book Cover

Description: Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the worst thing ever. It’s nothing compared to her planet being invaded. The AI has gone haywire, there’s a deadly plague, and no one knows what’s going on. Can Kady find out?

About The Authors: Amie Kaufman is an award-winning writer of epic, romantic sci-fi and fantasy adventures, and Jay Kristoff is an Australian bestselling author of genre-bending novels with bite.

Why Read It? Told through a series of hacked documents, this unique story is filled with action, intrigue, and suspense.

oNE CON GLORY By Sarah Kuhn

One Con Glory Book Cover

Description: Julie has always been a passionate fangirl. She’s never wanted anything more than the Glory Gilmore action figure. She finally has the chance to get it one fateful weekend. As any great adventure goes: nothing is simple.

About The Author: Sarah Kuhn is an author who writes fun, empowering stories.

Why Read It?

MOXYLAND By Lauren Beukes

Moxyland Book Cover

Description: Four people struggle to survive in a dark and twisted world. An art-school dropout, an ambitious baby, a hotheaded activist, and a sneaky blogger. They’re on a collision course.

About The Author: Lauren Beukes is known for her captivating, twisty stories.

Why Read It?

INSIGNIA By S.J. Kincaid

Insignia Book Cover

Description: The Earth’s natural resources have almost been exhausted, and conflict has broken out to control the assets of our solar system. Tom Raines may be humanity’s only hope. The 14-year-old’s expertise in virtual-reality gaming makes him an asset. Despite the new opportunities such as friends and potential romance, there’s a price to pay.

About The Author: S.J. Kincaid is an adventurous, award-winning author who’s written books that take readers on thrilling journeys.

Why Read It?

FEED By M. T. Anderson

Feed Book Cover

Description: For Titus and his friends, it started out like any ordinary trip to the moon — a chance to escape during spring break. But then an evil hacker causes feeds to malfunction. And Titus meets Violet. She wants to destroy the feeds.

About The Author: M.T. Anderson is an award-winning author who loves to create stories that explore the future, the past, and the world around us.

Why Read It?

dARK MATTER By Blake Crouch

Dark Matter Book Cover

Description: Jason has awoken in an unfamiliar world. Here, he’s a celebrated genius who achieved something impossible, unlike when Jason was just your average college physics professor. This new reality is more of a nightmare.

About The Author: Blake Crouch is an acclaimed novelist and screenwriter known for his thrilling, twisty tales: he specializes in suspense.

Why Read It?

ONLY YOU CAN SAVE MANKIND By Terry Pratchett

Only You Can Save Mankind Book Cover

Description: Johnny Maxwell is about to set the new high score on his favorite game. The aliens don’t die, they surrender instead!

About The Author: Sir Terry Pratchett was a brilliant and beloved fantasy author who wrote witty, imaginative stories.

Why Read It? Filled with mystery, suspense, and Pratchett’s trademark humor.

gENIUS: THE GAME By Leopoldo Gout

Genius The Game Book Cover

Description: Trust is scarce, every camera and microphone is watching and listening. Rex, a 16-year-old Mexican American programmer seeks his missing brother, Tunde, a self-taught engineering prodigy from Nigeria, is in danger, and Painted Wolf, a mysterious activist blogger, is thrust into the spotlight. They join forces to compete in The Game, a competition by India’s youngest CEO.

About The Author: Leopoldo Gout is a Mexican director and producer who’s made a name for himself with his inventive films and award-winning works.

Why Read It? In this action-packed young adult novel, three brilliant teens use their knowledge of hacking in a fierce competition to win.

tHE IMPOSSIBLE FORTRESS By Jason Rekulak

Impossible Fortress Book Cover

Description: May 1987. Billy Marvin is a happy nerd. Afternoons are spent with his buddies watching television. Playboy publishes photos with their idol Vanna White. They decide to sneak a copy, but everything goes haywire, and Billy meets expert computer programmer Mary Zelinsky. His first love.

About The Author: Jason Rekulak is an author and publisher who loves to bring stories together in imaginative and unexpected ways.

Why Read It? A sweet, retro coming-of-age full of pop culture references.

nYXIA By Scott Reintgen

Nyxia Book Cover

Description: Why the Babel Corporation recruited Emmett is anyone’s guess. When he arrive on Eden, he must compete to mine Nyxia, an invaluable substance deep within the world. Will he succumb to its temptations?

About The Author: Scott Reintgen is an award-winning YA author who’s known for crafting imaginative stories.

Why Read It?

DO ANDROIDS DREAM OF ELECTRIC SHEEP? By Philip K Dick

Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep Book Cover

Description: It’s set in a dystopian future Los Angeles and features Rick Deckard – an ex-cop who tracks down rogue robots.

About The Author: Philip K Dick was an out-of-this-world sci-fi writer whose work still inspires people all over the world today.

Why Read It? This book was the inspiration for the film Blade Runner.

About The Author: Leo Flynn

Hi! I run Road Less Read, curating my scifi, fantasy + YA favorites from reading 100+ books a year!

The Internet Isn't Fun Anymore.
I Have Nothing To Read.

Rubbish! The treasure is there, but there's no map. So skip the searching. Get your curated book recs and curiosities delivered.