Any purchases made through links may earn me a commission. Learn more.

Books Like Percy Jackson: Our Recommended Books ✨

By Leo Flynn

| Updated:

DRAGON PEARL By Yoon Ha Lee

Dragon Pearl Book Cover

Description: Min is a fox spirit. To keep the family safe, Min’s mother insists none of them use fox-magic. They must appear human at all times. Min wants to escape Jinju, her dust-ridden planet. She’ll follow her older brother, Jun, into the Space Forces and see the Thousand Worlds. Jun is suspected of leaving his post to search for the Dragon Pearl. But he would never. Min runs away to find him.

About The Author: Yoon Ha Lee is a science fiction writer who loves exploring the limits of space and story.

Why Read It? A space opera infused with Korean mythology of tremendous scale and heart is a science fiction story like no other.

ARTEMIS FOWL By Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl Book Cover

Description: A twelve-year-old criminal mastermind discovered a world underground of dangerous and high-tech fairies. He kidnaps Captain Holly Short for ransom to restore his family’s fortune. But he’s underestimated the fairies. Will he trigger a cross-species war?

About The Author: Eoin Colfer is the author of the popular Artemis Fowl series, and he writes fantastically adventurous stories.

Why Read It? A brilliant mastermind main character, supernatural intrigue, a secret magical world, and the daring heists of James Bond, what more could you want? Perfect for Percy Jackson fans.

THE SWORD OF SUMMER By Rick Riordan

Sword Of Summer Book Cover

Description: Since Magnus’ mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits. One day, he’s tracked down by his uncle – a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him Magnus is the son of a Norse god. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon lost for thousands of years. An attack by fire giants forces him to make a fatal decision. Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Why Read It? A hilarious adventure by the author who created Percy Jackson.

CHARLIE HERNÁNDEZ & THE LEAGUE OF SHADOWS By Ryan Calejo

League Of Shadows Book Cover

Description: Charlie Hernández is proud of his Latinx heritage. Her grandmother taught him myths. They might be real, but he never considers it. All the mythological figures he’s heard of are fighting a mysterious evil. A strange new world awaits him if he wants to find his missing parents.

About The Author: Ryan Calejo is an author, and teacher from Southern Florida.

Why Read It? With the thrilling, daring escapades, rich worldbuilding of the Percy Jackson series, this is the first in an excellent adventure.

ARU SHAH AND THE END OF TIME By Roshani Chokshi

End Of Time Book Cover

Description: Twelve-year-old Aru Shah stretches the truth to fit in. While her classmates are on family vacations in exotic locales, she spends it in the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture. Three schoolmates don’t believe the museum’s Lamp of Bharata is cursed, and they dare Aru to prove it. Lighting the lamp has dire consequences, freeing the Sleeper, an ancient demon. Her classmates and beloved mother are frozen in time, and it’s up to Aru to save them.

About The Author: Roshani Chokshi is an American author who draws on her rich Filipino-Indian heritage to write stories of magic, danger, and humor.

Why Read It? Published under the imprint Rick Riordan Presents, this story is spellbinding, magical, and intriguing.

TRISTAN STRONG PUNCHES A HOLE IN THE SKY By Kwame Mbalia

Punches A Hole In The Sky Book Cover

Description: Tristian Strong’s life shattered when his best friend died in an accident, and he survived. All that’s left of Eddie is his journal. One night, a strange creature steals Eddie’s journal. Tristan accidentally rips open a portal to the MidPass. He’s swept up in an ancient battle. With new allies, he goes on a quest to save the world.

About The Author: Kwame Mbalia is a NYT bestselling author whose work is inspired by the beauty and power of Black joy and heritage.

Why Read It? It’s a fun, thrilling romp through a magical world.

FURTHERMORE By Tahereh Mafi

Furthermore Book Cover

Description: Alice Alexis Queensmeadow‘s father disappeared three years ago. Alice travels to the dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is Oliver, whose magic is based in deceit. Alice must first find herself—and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

About The Author: Tahereh Mafi is an acclaimed YA author known for her imaginative and heartfelt stories – she’s the woman behind the Shatter Me series.

Why Read It? A whimsical fairy tale adventure inspired by classics like A Secret Garden and Narnia, this book is enchanting and captivating.

THE APOTHECARY By Maile Meloy

Apothecary Book Cover

Description: It’s 1952. The Scott family has moved to London. 14-year-old Janie meets a apothecary and his son, Benjamin. Benjamin’s father is kidnapped. They embark on a dangerous race to prevent impending disaster and save him.

About The Author: Maile Meloy is a New York Times bestselling author whose writing is full of wit, heart, and captivating storytelling.

Why Read It? Historical fantasy with thrills and narrow escapes, this fully illustrated story is one whirlwind ride.

THE WIZARDS OF ONCE By Cressida Cowell

The Wizards Of Once Book Cover

Description: A young Wizard and Warrior have been taught to hate each other. This is what happens when their two worlds collide.

About The Author: Cressida Cowell is a beloved children’s author known for her magical storytelling and bringing the character

Why Read It? A thrilling adventure from the author of How To Train Your Dragon.

GREGOR THE OVERLANDER By Suzanne collins

Gregor The Overlander Book Cover

Description: Gregor falls through a grate and hurtles into the Underland, where spiders, rats, cockroaches exist uneasily with humans. It’s on the brink of war. Gregor has a role to play. He doesn’t want to, until he realizes it’s the only way to solve his father’s disappearance.

About The Author: Suzanne Collins is the brains behind the Hunger Games trilogy.

Why Read It? An exciting, and underrated fantasy series.

MAGYK By Angie Sage

Magyk Book Cover

Description: Septimus Heap, the seventh son of the seventh son, disappears when he’s born. The baby’s father finds an abandoned newborn girl in the snow. Who is this mysterious baby, and what happened to Septimus?

About The Author: Angie Sage is a renowned fantasy writer who creates enchanting worlds.

Why Read It? The first in a spellbinding series is a fantastic adventure filled with heart, humor, and intrigue.

MOONSHADOW By Simon Higgins

Rise Of The Ninja Book Cover

Description: In medieval Japan, a power-hungry warlord is plotting to plunge the nation into a deadly civil war using a secret weapon from the West. Moonshadow, the youngest agent for the Grey Light Order, a covert brotherhood. He’s sent to capture the secret weapon’s plans. Can Moonshadow defeat the evil warlord to save his country from violent chaos? Or will his first mission also be his last?

About The Author: He’s an author of mystery and horror novels.

Why Read It? A high-stakes middle-grade historical fantasy series, this book is written by a master of Japanese swordsmanship.

THE COLOSSUS RISES By Peter Lerangis

Colossus Rises Book Cover

Description: Jack McKinley, is an ordinary kid with an extraordinary problem. In a few months, he’s going to die—unless he finds seven magic Loculi hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

About The Author: He’s a bestselling children’s author who loves creating exciting and adventurous stories that inspire young readers.

Why Read It? A high-octane mix of Percy Jackson’s greek mythology and Indiana Jones, this New York Times Bestselling series keeps you on the edge of your seat.

THE WISHING SPELL By Chris Colfer

League Of Shadows Book Cover

Description: Twins Alex and Conner find themselves in a land of wonder and magic. But after encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.

About The Author: He’s an acclaimed actor and author who’s known for his witty and heartfelt stories that touch readers of all ages.

Why Read It? A whimsical middle-grade series inspired by classic fairy tales, these books are perfect for younger readers.

THE RED PYRAMID By Rick Riordan

Red Pyramid Book Cover

Description: Since her mother’s death, Sadie lives with her grandparents in London. Her brother travels with their father, the Egyptologist, Dr. Julius Kane. Dr. Kane brings the siblings to the British Museum to set things right. Instead, he unleashes the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him. Sadie and Carter embark on a dangerous journey to stop him, bringing them closer to their link to a secret order.

Why Read It? A series by Rick Riordan like Percy Jackson with the same engaging protagonists, biting wit, high stakes, and mythology.

The Internet Isn't Fun Anymore.
I Have Nothing To Read.

Rubbish! The treasure is there, but there's no map. So skip the searching. Get your curated book recs and curiosities delivered.

About The Author: Leo Flynn

Hi! I run Road Less Read, curating my scifi, fantasy + YA favorites from reading 100+ books a year! Email me for a hyper-specific rec?

Copy & Share: