Authors Like Terry Pratchett: Our Recommended Books ✨

An Ink Drawing Of A Fantasy Landscape With Mountains In The Distance (Midjourney)

By

Leo Flynn

| Published:

| Updated:

| Reading Time:

7 Mins

Seeking your next read? Let me help with my curated list of authors + books to try like Terry Pratchett

FYI: any purchases made through links may earn me a commission. Thanks in advance! 😉 Learn more.

Our Top Picks For Authors Like Terry Pratchett

Artemis Fowl Book Cover

By Eoin Colfer

Chronicles Of Christomanci Book Cover

By Dianna Wynne Jones

Etiquette & Espionage Book Cover

By Gail Carriger

Books Similar To Terry Pratchett & Discworld To Read

Here are fourteen novels and books similar to to read if you like Terry Pratchett’s past work.

ARTEMIS FOWL By eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl Book Cover

Description: Artemis Fowl, a precocious 12-year-old with a cunning mind, has uncovered a secret underworld of technologically advanced and deadly fairies. To restore his family’s wealth, Artemis kidnaps one of these fairies, a tough and capable agent named Holly Short, and demands a ransom in exchange for her safe return. However, Artemis may have underestimated the abilities and strength of the fairy civilization, and his actions could trigger a catastrophy.

Why Read It? Eoin Colfer is best known for the top-selling Artemis Fowl series. These books blend science fiction and fantasy with a modern setting. They have a genius anti-hero protagonist. Funny and suspenseful.

THE CHRONICLES OF CHRESTOMANCI VOLUME 1 By Dianna Wynne Jones

Chronicles Of Christomanci Book Cover

Description: In the Twelve Related Worlds, there exist multiple parallel universes where magic is prevalent. However, the misuse of magic is rampant and can only be controlled by a powerful enchanter with nine lives, known as the Chrestomanci. The Chants are a family that possesses great magical abilities, but neither Christopher nor Cat Chant can perform even the basic spells. What’s more astonishing is they were both born with nine lives, yet they can lose them rapidly. If the misuse of magic isn’t kept in check, it could lead to disastrous consequences.

Why Read It? Her humorous, whimsical style never fails to delight.

ETIQUETTE & ESPIONAGE By Gail Carriger

Etiquette & Espionage Book Cover

Description: Sophronia, a headstrong 14-year-old, is a constant source of exasperation for her mother. With little interest in propriety, she prefers taking apart clocks and climbing trees. Desperate to transform her daughter into a proper young lady, Mrs. Temminnick enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality. However, at Mademoiselle Geraldine’s, the students are taught to finish… everything. While they may receive instruction in dance, fashion, and social etiquette, they also learn the art of deception and assassination – always with the utmost politeness.

Why Read It? A delightful mix of steampunk, fantasy, and humor.

THE NAME OF THIS BOOK IS SECRET By Pseudonymous Bosch

Name Of This Book Is Secret Book Cover

Description: Caution: The following hasn’t been authorized by Pseudonymous Bosch. While he’s thrilled to boast about his creation (he is rather vain), he’d never divulge the details of reveal how a cryptic box of vials called the Symphony of Smells sets 11-year-olds Cass and Max-Ernest on a perilous quest to uncover the fate of a vanished magician. And he most certainly wouldn’t disclose the escapades that ensue or the villains they encounter. Not only is the title of this book undisclosed, but the contents are equally shrouded in secrecy.

Why Read It? A funny and engaging adventure with a touch of fantasy filled with quirky characters, unique plots, and a style that often breaks the fourth wall.

THE EYRE AFFAIR By Jasper Fforde

Eyre Affair Book Cover

Description: Step into Great Britain circa 1985, where time travel is commonplace, cloning is a reality (with dodos as a favored pet), and literature is held in the highest regard. In England, individuals can become lost within the confines of a Wordsworth poem, and forging Byronic verse carries severe penalties. Thursday Next is a distinguished Special Operative in literary detection. When a sinister figure begins abducting characters from literary masterpieces, Thursday faces the most formidable challenge of her career.

Why Read It? This book by Jasper Fforde is a clever blend of literary references, alternate history, and humor.

WHO COULD THAT BE AT THIS HOUR? By Lemony Snicket

Who Could It Be At This Hour Book Cover

Description: Before the Baudelaire siblings were orphaned, the inquisitive man was a boy exploring the enigmas of the world. In a decaying town, far from any familiar faces, a youthful Lemony Snicket apprenticed with a covert organization shrouded in secrecy. Driven by his insatiable thirst for knowledge, Lemony posed questions that should not have concerned him. The account of his journey was never intended for publication and spans four volumes that are best left unread.

Why Read It? Although better known for A Series of Unfortunate Events, this series is a lighter, more fantastical read that still retains his signature wit.

THE SECRET OF PLATFORM 13 By Eva Ibbotson

Secret Of Platform 13 Book Cover

Description: Tucked away on an abandoned railway platform lies a forgotten door that leads to a wondrous island, home to mermaids, ogres, and other fantastical beings. The island is only accessible when the door materializes for nine days every nine years. However, when the ruthless Mrs. Trottle abducts the young prince of the island, an ogre, a hag, a wizard, and a fey must band together to save him, and navigate the bustling metropolis of London undetected.

Why Read It? Eva Ibbotson’s books often feature magical worlds, eccentric characters, and a good dose of humor.

NOBODY’S PRINCESS By Esther Friesner

Nobodys Princess Book Cover

Description: Helen is a princess in ancient Sparta, not content to stay within the confines of tradition. She yearns for adventure. Despite the dangers she faces, including enemies like Theseus, claiming to be the son of Zeus, Helen is resolute in her quest. She forms alliances with Atalanta, a renowned huntress, and a young priestess, the Oracle of Delphi. Helen’s cunning will be put to the test.

Why Read It? She writes fantasy stories blended with historical fiction about women from ages past. In amongst humor, she weaves social satire and social commentary. Esther Friesner is also known for her short stories, for which she’s won a Hugo and Nebula award.

THE LIE TREE By Frances Hardinge

The Lie Tree Book Cover

Description: Faith Sunderly may appear to be a proper young lady, but beneath her polished exterior lies a burning curiosity. She is keenly observant of her surroundings, and knows secrets others would never suspect her of possessing. She is determined to uncover the truth about the suspicious circumstances surrounding her father’s death. In her quest, Faith delves discovers a strange tree that bears fruit when she tells it a lie. The fruit may hold the key to solving her father’s murder. However, the lies quickly take on a life of their own.

Why Read It? Frances Hardinge writes twisty fantasy novels for young adults.

THE LEFT HAND OF DARKNESS By Ursula K. Le Guin

Left Hand Of Darkness Book Cover

Description: When a solitary human ambassador is dispatched to Winter, an ice-cold planet where gender roles are fluid and there is no sexual bias, he must navigate the unfamiliar customs and beliefs of the inhabitants to forge a connection between Winter and the expanding intergalactic society. In order to achieve his objective, he must overcome the vast divide that separates his personal convictions from those of the captivating and otherworldly civilization.

Why Read It? Ursula K. Le Guin was a prolific American author. She wrote science fiction and fantasy to literary fiction and children’s books. She’s best known for The Left Hand of Darkness and the Earthsea stories.

POWER AND MAJESTY By Tansy Rayner Roberts

Power & Majesty Book Cover

Description: It’s set in the city of Aufleur, where the inhabitants are protected from supernatural threats by the Creature Court. The story follows Velody, a young dressmaker’s apprentice, who becomes entangled in the dangerous world of the Creature Court when she discovers her hidden powers. As Velody struggles to navigate the treacherous politics and rivalries of the court, she must also learn to control her newfound abilities and face her destiny.

Why Read It? She’s an Australian fantasy writer and writes crime fiction under a penname. Her books are for children and adults with a surreal or fantastical element. Her work has been published in several magazines.

tHE GRAVEYARD BOOK By Neil Gaiman

American Gods Book Cover

Description: Bod, aka Nobody Owens, may appear to be an ordinary boy, but he resides in a graveyard, raised by a group of benevolent ghosts and cared for by a guardian who straddles the boundary the living and the dead. Despite his unconventional upbringing, Bod embarks on thrilling adventures in the graveyard, encountering the likes of an ancient Indigo Man, and the enigmatic Sleer. However, if Bod ventures outside of the cemetery, he’ll encounter the man Jack.

Why Read It? Neil Gaiman writes fantasy, science fiction, and things strange and wondrous. He’s an excellent short story writer, but his literary career also spans graphic novels, comics and screenplays.

JOANNES CABAL THE NECROMANCER By Jonathan L. Howard

Joannes Cabal The Necromancer Book Cover

Description: Johannes Cabal made a fateful decision to trade his soul in exchange for knowledge of necromancy. Now he’s determined to reclaim what he has lost. Satan finds Johannes’ predicament amusing and offers him a wager: convince one hundred people to sell their souls or be damned to Hell for eternity. Johannes accepts the challenge and is granted a year to achieve his goal. Johannes reanimates a motley crew of corpses to help him and enlists his charismatic vampire brother, Horst, to run the show. But chaos ensues, and Johannes is forced to confront the true cost of his quest for redemption.

Why Read It? A dark fantasy filled with biting, deadpan comedy and wit.

HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON By Cressida Cowell

How To Train Your Dragon Book Cover

Description: Follow Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III, a calm and reflective young man who happens to be the son of the Chief of the Hairy Hooligans. To prove his worth to his Viking clan, Hiccup must successfully complete an important initiation test by capturing a dragon. The challenge is a daunting one, as failure could result in him being ripped apart. Join Hiccup on his journey as he faces both triumphs and setbacks in his attempt to train dragons.

Why Read It? This series is filled with humor, adventure, and lovable characters in the vein of the beloved Discworld.

Want more recommendations? Try The Author Christopher Moore, Rorbet Rankin, Douglas Adams, Or Robert Asprin

Or, try the following writers. Try Spider Robinson. An American writer and musician, he’s written books solo and with his wife, Jeanne Robinson. His sci fi features humor and appealing characters.

Charles Stross is an award-winning British science fiction author. He’s known for his funny writing style and hard science fiction and space opera blend. His tales are packed with witty commentary. A. Lee Martinez is an American fantasy/science fiction author known for his comedic style. His stories have unexpected twists, and dark humor.

Michael Logan is a Scottish author. He’s known for his hilarious, dark futuristic novels and short fiction. His work has won two prizes. He previously worked as an international correspondent. Robert Sheckley was an American science fiction author. He was known for his satirical approach to writing.

Ben Aaronovitch is the author of the Rivers of London series. A humorous look at police procedurals. It blends urban fantasy and hard-boiled detective novels. He’s written graphic novels, short stories, and screenplays. Tom Holt writes historical novels under his name and writes fantasy under the pen name K.J. Parker.

Conclusion

Hope you found this list including recs helpful, and you’ve got something fantastic to add to your TBR. Happy reading! Have suggestions for this article, want to tell us your current favorite or what’s on your shelf?

Great! We’d love to hear from you if you want to tell us about what you’ve been reading, whether it’s fiction or non-fiction. Message us here.

Want more book recommendations? See our science fiction, fantasy, and young adult book lists and content for avid readers and casual book fans alike.

Share:

About The Author: Leo Flynn (Founder)

Hi! I'm Leo, the queer human behind Road Less Read, my book blog, spotlighting my science fiction, fantasy, + YA underrated and diverse favorites. I read 100+ books a year and show you the best!